AMPAG, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra:Symphony No 2 / Piano Concerto No 1

Symphony No 2 / Piano Concerto No 1

March 2020

Tue 03 

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Federation Concert Hall



Bold and assertive, Brahms’ First Piano Concerto is one of those works where soloist and orchestra engage in stupendous back-and-forth exchanges as they grapple with the musical material – championing it, taming it and drawing out its many beauties. In short, it’s a spectacle to be seen, heard and savoured. Making his TSO debut is brilliant Czech pianist Lukáš Vondráček, winner of the prestigious Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2016.

Written in the most beautiful of settings – the Austrian resort town of Pörtschach – Brahms’ Symphony No 2 reflects the idyllic environs in which it grew and took shape. Although Brahms was never one to ‘paint’ scenes in music, his Second Symphony captures the many moods of nature, from the serene to the awesome. Enjoy Brahms at his most bucolic.