AMPAG, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra:Peraines


November 2020

Sat 21 

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Federation Concert Hall



Beethoven’s imagination was on fire when he wrote the Fourth Piano Concerto and Fourth Symphony. Stepping back from the abyss – he was plunged into despair upon realising the inescapable fact of his encroaching deafness – he resolved to fulfil his destiny as a creative being, composing with new-found zeal and dynamism.

That dynamism is palpable in both of these works. The Symphony No 4 teems with original ideas while the Piano Concerto No 4 is by far the most experimental of all of Beethoven’s piano concertos. Embracing the poetic, introspective and heroic, the Fourth Concerto has long been prized by audiences and soloists. Making a welcome return to the TSO is brilliant Spanish pianist Javier Perianes.