AMPAG, Queensland Symphony Orchestra Queensland Symphony Orchestra:The New World

The New World

August 2019

Sat 10 

07:30 PM

Queensland Symphony Orchestra

Queensland Symphony Orchestra

QPAC Concert Hall



Majestic Music Inspired by America

Conductor Alondra de la Parra
Soloist Martin Grubinger, Percussion

Copland Appalachian Spring
Dorman Frozen in Time 
Dvořák Symphony No.9 (From the New World)

Appalachian Spring’s stirring vision of America roils with boundless optimism. This tribute to the resilience of the human spirit and discovery of a new world is invigorating.Frozen in Timeis a concerto for percussion, performed by superstar Martin Grubinger. It presents four imaginary snapshots of earth as a prehistoric continent, each contrasting movement featuring a phase in the earth's geological development. Dvořák’s late romantic symphony is one of classical music’s most popular works. Trumpeting a new dawn for American music and threaded with memorable tunes, it’s regarded as a pre-Copland homage to the pioneering frontier’s wide-open spaces and ends in major-key glory.

Queensland Symphony Orchestra Music Director is proudly supported by Tim Fairfax AC.

Additional performance: Friday 9 August, 11AM.