AMPAG, Queensland Symphony Orchestra Queensland Symphony Orchestra:Ray Chen Returns

Ray Chen Returns

October 2019

Sat 12 

07:30 PM

Queensland Symphony Orchestra

Queensland Symphony Orchestra

QPAC Concert Hall



Queensland’s Own Violin Master

J.S. Bach Chaconne in D minor, BWV1004*
J.S. Bach Orchestral Suite No.4 in D minor, BWV1069
Handel Double Orchestral Concerto No.2, HWV333 in F*
Mendelssohn Sinfonia No.10 in B minor
Mendelssohn Concerto in E minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op.64
*Not featured in Morning Masterworks

Tune in to the magical charms of violin and strings. Revel in music by Bach and Handel, the towering composers of the Baroque Period. About the Chaconne, Brahms said it expressed, ‘a whole world of the deepest thoughts and most powerful feelings.’ Bach’s compelling and energised Suite is majestic. Stately grandeur also informs Handel’s Concerto with its glorious antiphonal effects, the period’s equivalence of stereo. Also savour the refreshing sound world of horns, oboes and bassoon. In Mendelssohn’s Concerto, the violin’s soaring melody, the orchestra’s exquisitely spun accompaniment and the astonishing pyrotechnics required from the soloist is breathtaking. Enjoy more of this composer’s flair for crafting melody and dramatic string tapestries in Sinfonia No.10.

Additional performance: Friday 11 October, 11AM