AMPAG, Queensland Symphony Orchestra Queensland Symphony Orchestra:QSO plays The Russians


September 2016

Fri 16 

11:00 AM

Queensland Symphony Orchestra

Queensland Symphony Orchestra

QPAC Concert Hall



The Rococo Variations conjure visions of another age where decoration, stunning craftsmanship and perfect balance were at a peak.

This work is an homage to Mozart and Haydn; a lightly crafted masterpiece of filigree delicacy, and one of the great cello showpieces. Soltani, a prince of the cello will melt your heart with his graceful playing. And then, music of hope and redemption: Rachmaninov’s hauntingly beautiful second symphony, a much loved all-time favourite.

Conductor Lukasz Borowicz
Cello Kian Soltani (Australian debut)

TchaikovskyVariations on a Rococo Theme
Rachmaninov Symphony No.2

The Morning Masterworks series is supported by 4MBS Classic FM.