​WA Ballet picks up two awards

Some exciting work was celebrated at the WA Dance Awards in Perth on 21 November, including starring performances in Onegin by dancers in the West Australian Ballet.

​WA Ballet picks up two awards


Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer (sponsored by Classical Dance Studio) was awarded toFiona EvansforOnegin.

Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer (sponsored by The Good Store) was awarded toMatthew LehmannforOnegin.

Born in Victoria, Evans moved to the west coast with her family when she was 10 years old.

She had begun dancing at five but didn’t start full-time training until age 11. Evans began her training with The Janice James Academy, then with Marilyn Jones and Garth Welch, The Graduate College of Dance, under Terri Charlesworth, and the Heinz-Bosl Academy in Munich. After a year and a half at the Academy she joined the Bavarian State Ballet and in July 2004 was promoted to second soloist.

Her career at WA Ballet began as a guest artist on The Red Shoes tour before becoming a permanent member of the company and leading artist in 2009.

Matthew Lehmann started training at Ballet Theatre Australia in 1999 and continued to develop his skills at The Australian Ballet School in 2002. In 2005 Lehmann performed for the first time with the West Australian Ballet in its seasonDangerous Liaisons by Simon Dow after graduating and moving to Canada to join Alberta Ballet.

He moved to Perth and joined West Australian Ballet for its 2010 Gala season. He was promoted to principal male after John Cranko’sOnegin at theend of 2013.

Other WA Dance Award winners are:

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography sponsored by Contemporary Dance Company Western Australia was awarded to Brooke LeederforMechanic.

The Award for Services to Dance sponsored by Charlesworth Ballet Institute went to David Mogridge.

Outstanding Achievement in Teaching sponsored by K2Dance was awarded to Phillippa Clarke.

Award for Design and/or Composition in Dance sponsored by MoveMe was awarded toThe Standing Bird 2 + Verge Team: Fiona Bruce, Lauren Ross, Ashley de Prazer, Joe Lui and Kingsley Reeve.

Award for Emerging Artist sponsored by APS went to Isabella Stone.

Outstanding Achievement in Youth or Community Dance sponsored by Kindy Dance Time was awarded to Megan Wood-Hill forMen of The Red Earth.

This year's Ausdance WA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Chrissie Parrott.

Finally, the Inaugural People's Choice Award for Best Production sponsored by Creative Moves WA went to Wheel of Fortunes.


Award Winners, News