Gloria gets the Matilda

Queensland Theatre Company’s Gloria took out the top prize for Best Mainstage Production at the Matilda Awards in Brisbane this week.

Gloria gets the Matilda


QTC’s production of Macbeth also took outBest Design (Set and Costumes) forSimone Romaniuk, who also won a Gold Matilda Award for her work.

The Matildas, judged by a 10-member panel of critics and arts administrators, were held at the QUT Gardens Point Theatre on Monday night.

Critics Sue Gough and Alison Cotes set up the Matilda Awards in 1987. They felt there should be some form of recognition that celebrated and promoted the excellence of Queensland’s theatre industry.

There are 12 Silver Matilda Awards, as well as five Gold Matildas, awarded for ‘outstanding work in any area of the professional theatre industry, which also includes independent productions’. They can be either for a single production or a body of work.


Steven Mitchell Wright

Tim O’Connor

optikal bloc

Simone Romaniuk

Sven Swenson


Best Mainstage Production
, Queensland Theatre Company

Best New Australian Work
Machina,written by Richard Jordan, La Boite Indie
& MadCat Creative Connections with the support of QPAC

Best Independent Production
Angel Gear, La Boite Indie & Pentimento Productions with the support of QPAC

Best Male Actor in a Leading Role
Sven Swenson,Angel Gear

Best Female Actor in a Leading Role
Helen Christinson,A Doll’s House, La Boite Theatre Company & Brisbane Festival

Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Damien Cassidy,A Doll’s House

Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role

Cienda McNamara,A Doll’s House

Best Director

Steven Mitchell Wright,A Doll’s House

Best Design (Set and Costumes)
Simone Romaniuk,Macbeth,Queensland Theatre Company in association with Grin and Tonic Theatre Troupe

Best Technical Design (Lighting, Multimedia or Sound)

optikal bloc,Pale Blue Dot,La Boite Theatre Company

Bille Brown Award for Best Emerging Artist
Casey Woods,Angel Gear

Best Musical or Cabaret

Spamalot, Harvest Rain Theatre Company


Award Winners, News