NSW Premier’s Literary Awards announced

Black is the New White by Nakkiah Lui (Sydney Theatre Company) awarded Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting.

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards announced


The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature.

The 2018 winners were announced on 30 April.

The Nick Enright Prize ($30,000) is offered for a play or a work of music drama given its first production in Australia between 1 October 2016 and 30 September 2017.

Judges' Comments:

"After Leah Purcell’s devastating reframing of white Australian myth inThe Drover’s Wife, Nakkiah Lui follows through with a warm and quick-witted romantic comedy revelling in the intersection between contemporary Australian cultures. In its portrayal of a young Aboriginal lawyer who brings home her underemployed white musician boyfriend to meet the family,Black is the New White demonstrates the emergence of a powerful new social intelligence in contemporary comedy and confirms the continuing reclamation of the Australian mainstage by First Nations storytellers.

This ebullient laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is also a fiercely intelligent social satire covering race, class, family, love and everything in between. Nakkiah Lui eschews the misanthropy that often accompanies satirical drama by writing a play with deep humanist values at its heart. Black is the New White employs genre to great advantage, skewering middle class drawing room comedies and challenging stereotype at every turn. The characters are portrayed with such sharpness and warmth that they leap off the page.

This play provides great joy without losing sight of the suffering created by the systems of privilege that have brought it into being. It is buoyant, intelligent and very satisfying as it delivers a solid dose of uncomfortable truth right alongside thigh-slapping good humour. A rare and special feat from the talented Nakkiah Lui"

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.

For the full list visit:



Award Winners, News