ABO scoops up a Sidney Myer award

The Australian Brandenburg Orchestra was announced last night as a winner of one of the three Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards.

ABO scoops up a Sidney Myer award


The ABO, the period-instrument ensemble founded in 1989 by its Artistic Director Paul Dyer AO, has won the group award worth $80,000.

Playwright Lally Katz won the $50,000 award for individuals, and Helen Marcou and Quincy McLean, founders of live music lobby group SLAM and the owners of Bakehouse Studios, have been awarded the $20,000 facilitator’s prize.

Paul Dyer said: ‘We are very proud to have been awarded the Sidney Myer Performing Arts Group Award in Melbourne last night. Huge congratulations also to the other two winners, Lally Katz and SLAM. it is an honour to be recognised in this way.’

Since the awards were founded in 1984 more than $2.3 million has been distributed to artists.

The awards recognise the past achievements and potential of performing artists.

The awards, which were created in 1984 to commemorate Sidney Myer’s life and his love for the arts, recognise outstanding achievements in dance, drama, comedy, music, opera, circus and puppetry.

Nominations for the awards are generally open in September and October each year.

For the purpose of the awards, the performing arts include all aspects of creation and performance across all forms of drama, comedy, dance, music, opera, circus and puppetry.

image: Australian Brandenburg Orchestra: Managing Director Bruce Applebaum and Deputy General Manager Bridget O'Brien
image credit:
Fiona Hamilton


Award Winners, News