2018 Art Music Awards winners announced

The recipients of the 2018 Art Music Awards have been revealed across 11 national and six state/territory categories. A gala event honouring Australia’s finest art music composers from the genres of contemporary classical music, jazz, experimental music and sound art, was held at Melbourne’s Plaza Ballroom on Tuesday evening.

2018 Art Music Awards winners announced


In its 8th year, the Art Music Awards is the only national event in Australia to acknowledge the extraordinary achievements and creative successes of individuals and organisations who continue to champion Australian art music in diverse contexts both at home and overseas.

Some of the winners included:

The Orchestral Work of the Year winner is composer Paul Stanhope for Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra, written for and performed by theWest Australian Symphony Orchestra, Joshua Davis (trombone) and conducted by Asher Fisch. A serial finalist of the Art Music Awards, Paul is one of the leading figures in his generation of Australian composers, with performances of his works all over the world.

One of Australia’s best-known composers, Carl Vine AO is the recipient of the award for Excellence by an Individual. Throughout 2017, his works were performed around the country and internationally. He is also acknowledged as a mentor, as well as for his artistic direction ofMusica Viva.

Chicago-based contemporary chamber ensembleEighth Blackbird is the recipient of thePerformance of the Yearaward forLobster Tales and Turtle Soup,by young Australian composerHolly Harrison.Lobster Tales was commissioned for Musica Viva with the support of Geoff Stearn and theHildegard Project

The Vocal/Choral Work of the Year winner is composerMary Finsterer for her critically acclaimed operaBiographica, about 16th-century Italian inventor, philosopher and gambler Gerolamo Cardano. Premiering at Sydney Festival in 2017, the work was performed by Sydney Chamber Opera and Ensemble Offspring, conducted by Jack Symonds.

The Instrumental Work of the Yearwas awarded to Lisa Illeanfor her large ensemble work,Cantor (after Willa Cather). Commissioned and initially performed byEnsemble Offspring and funded through the APRA Art Music Fund in its inaugural year, the work has been performed by a number of ensembles worldwide.

The 2018 Art Music Awards, staged jointly byAPRA AMCOS and theAustralian Music Centre (AMC),were hostedbyJonathan Biggins; presenters included outgoing Chief Executive Officer of the Australia Council for the Arts Tony Grybowski, composersLiza Lim, Tony Gouldand Deborah Cheetham AO, and human rights and refugee advocate,Julian Burnside AO QC.

AMPAG congratulate all the 2018 Art Music Awards winners on their outstanding achievements.

The full list of winners 2018 Art Music Awards can be foundHERE


Award Winners, News