2018 Art Music Awards finalists

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre have announced the 2018 Art Music Awards finalists .

2018 Art Music Awards finalists


The Awards celebrate a diverse range of artists, organisations and some of Australia’s finest composers and performers in contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music, recognised for excellence in their field.

The Art Music Awards will be presented to the winners in eleven national categories, as well as Australian state or territory awards, onTuesday 21 August at Melbourne’s Plaza Ballroom.

The APRA Board of Directors will announce the recipient of the Distinguished Services to Australian Music in coming weeks. Previous recipients of this honour include John Pochée, Richard Gill, George Dreyfus, Helen Gifford and the late composer Peter Sculthorpe.

CEO of the Australian Music Centre, John Davis, said, “It’s particularly good to see first-time finalists and the emerging generation of artists featured prominently across this year’s award categories, alongside more established names. This is testament to the vibrancy of our art music scene, reflecting a rich landscape of creative practice across the sector.”

2018 Art Music Awards finalists are:.

Orchestral Work of the Year

Title:Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra

Composer:Paul Stanhope

Performer:Joshua Davis (trombone), West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Asher Fisch (conductor)

Title:Entropia for Symphony Orchestra, no. 441 (2016-2017)

Composer:Andrián Pertout

Performer:Tatarstan National Symphony Orchestra, Guerassim Voronkov (conductor)

Title:Spirals for Clarinet and Bassoon

Composer:Maria Grenfell

Performer:Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, James Feddeck (conductor), Andrew Seymour (clarinet), Tahnee van Herk (bassoon)


Composer:Lachlan Skipworth

Performer:West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Daniel Blendulf (conductor)

Performance of the Year

Performer:Australian String Quartet and Pieter Wispelwey

Title:String Quintet No. 2

Composer:Gordon Kerry

Performer:Eighth Blackbird

Title:Lobster Tales and Turtle Soup

Composer:Holly Harrison

Performer:Matthew Horsley

Title:A Book of Migrations

Composer:Liam Flenady

Performer:West Australian Symphony Orchestra and soloists; Simone Young (conductor)

Title:Maali, op. 101 – Concerto for oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn with orchestra

Composer:Andrew Schultz

Award for Excellence by an Organisation

    ·Australian Art Orchestra for collaboration, touring, mentorship and innovative programming

    ·Gondwana Choirs for Songs of My Country collaboration with the Vienna Boys Choir

    ·Move Records for 50 years of recording and release of new music

    ·Tura New Music for 30 years of presenting, producing, commissioning, exhibiting, publishing, advocating and supporting Australian art music

Award for Excellence by an Individual

    ·Carl Vine AO for 2017 activities

    ·Connor D’Netto for outstanding artistic direction of ARGO throughout 2017

    ·Keyna Wilkins for activities in original art music throughout 2017 as a composer-musician including the release of three original albums

Award for Excellence in Music Education

    ·Australian Art Orchestra for Creative Music Intensive

    ·Melbourne Conservatorium of Music Wind Symphony for MCM Wind Symphony Performances

    ·MLC School, Sydney for MLC School Sydney Opera House Concert 2017

    ·Young Music Society Inc. (ACT) for 50 years of community youth music activity

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

    ·Big hART for Acoustic Life of Sheds

    ·Moorambilla Voices for their 2017 season

    ·The Orpheus Club String Quartet for their 2017 ‘Festival in a String Quartet’ Central QLD tour

    ·Tyalgum Music Festival for the 2017 Tyalgum Music Festival

Vocal / Choral Work of the Year


Composer:Mary Finsterer; libretto by Tom Wright

Performer:Sydney Chamber Opera, Ensemble Offspring, Jack Symonds (conductor)

Title:Comeclose and Sleepnow: six Liverpool love songs

Composer:Andrew Ford; poems by Adrian Henri, Brian McGough, Brian Patten

Performer:The Monash Art Ensemble, with Gian Slater, Paul Grabowsky (conductor)

Title:Fiat Lux: The Light Cycle

Composer:Alice Chance

Performer:Leichhardt Espresso Chorus, The Song Company, Alice Chance, Benjamin Burton (and audience); Michelle Leonard (conductor)

Title:On Earth as in Heaven

Composer:Anne Cawrse: text by Michael Leunig

Performer:Adelaide Chamber Singers, Christie Anderson (conductor)

Jazz Work of the Year

Title:American Counterpoint

Composer:Matthew Sheens

Performer:Zephyr String Quartet, Matthew Sheens, Lyndon Gray, Myele Manzanza


Composer:Ellen Kirkwood

Performer:Sirens Big Band, Andrea Keller (piano), Sandy Evans (saxophones), Gian Slater (voice)


Composer:Johannes Luebbers

Performer:Johannes Luebbers Dectet


Composer:Sandy Evans

Performer:Sandy Evans (saxophone), Steve Elphick (double bass), Alon Ilsar (drums), Satsuki Odamura (koto), Adrian Sherriff (trombone), Bobby Singh (tabla)

Instrumental Work of the Year

Title:Aspects of Return

Composer:Jakub Jankowski

Performer:Nicolas Altstaedt & Aleksandar Madžar

Title:Cantor (after Willa Cather)

Composer:Lisa Illean

Performer:Ensemble Offspring

Title:Up in the Clouds

Composer:Corrina Bonshek

Performer:All of the Above

Title:When We Speak

Composer:Lisa Cheney

Performer:Gemma Tomlinson

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

    ·Chamber Made for Between 8 and 9 (Chengdu Teahouse Project)

    ·Eugene Ughetti for Assembly Operation

    ·Splinter Orchestra for new work, performances, exhibitions, concerts

    ·Vanessa Tomlinson, Leah Barclay, John Ferguson for 100 Ways to Listen

Award for Excellence in Jazz

    ·Alister Spence Trio for Not Everything But Enough

    ·Barney McAll for Hearing the Blood

    ·Jeremy Rose for the recording, performance, composition and promotion of contemporary jazz through Earshift Music

    ·Sandy Evans for rockpoolmirror


Award Winners, News