2018 AIR awards winners announced

Congratulations to Australian Chamber Orchestra/Richard Tognetti - Jonny Greenwood for the receiving Best Independent Classical Album award at the AIR Awards.

2018 AIR awards winners announced


Australia’s Independent Music’s night of nights welcomed in the 2018 AIR Awards in Adelaide.

Not only did this year’s list of recipients see 12 of Australia’s finest artists acknowledged, it also recognised the work of two strong independent music business’, rewarding them with financial funding from our supporting partners.

ABC Classics had good reason to celebrate with their two artistsJames Morrison/BBC Concert Orchestra taking out the gong forBest Independent Jazz Album andAustralian Chamber Orchestra/Richard Tognetti receivingBest Independent Classical Album.

The AIR Award for Best Independent Label went toMilk! Records and thanks tomoshtix; Australia’s most trusted Independent Ticketing company, they will receive a digital marketing package valued at $20,000 to help showcase their talent to the music public.

Skinnyfish Music took out AIR’s newOutstanding Achievement Award receiving a $5,000 cash prize from global independent rights agencyMerlin, in recognition of their significant and lasting contribution to the Australian Independent Music Community.

Milk! Records celebrated once more withJen Cloher taking home AIR’sBest Independent Artist award, whilstBest Independent Single went toAlex Lahey for her song ‘Every Day’s The Weekend’.

In an AIR Awards first,Best Independent Album or EP was a tie this year, awarding bothMethyl Ethel for theirEverything is Forgotten album andThe Jungle Giants for theirQuiet Ferocity album, the two racking up an equal number of votes.

In the genre awardsPNAU dominated in their category forBest Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single andBest Independent Dance/Electronica Album. Whilst theBest Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album award went toKing Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard, andBIRDZ took homeBest Independent Hip Hop Album.

Fanny Lumsden accepted the award forBest Independent Country Album, before taking to the stage to perform ‘Elastic Waistband’ off herReal Class Act record.

Having kicked off the night performing Welcome to Country with theTal-Kin-Jeri Dancers, followed by his own ‘Mr La Di Da Di’ single,Baker Boy stepped back onstage later in the night to receive the award forBreakthrough Independent Artist of the Year Presented by PPCA.

Alex The Astronaut’s performance of ‘Not Worth Hiding’ andStella Donnelly ‘Boys Will Be Boys’ raw performance demonstrated the power music can have, whilstBAD//DREEMS kept the party atmosphere in tow with their ‘Feeling Remains’ anthem.

The night’s proceedings came to a close with the unique and powerfully endearingCaiti Baker performing her R&B/Soul single ‘I Won’t Sleep’.

AIR GM, Maria Amato commented“It was great to celebrate the success of the Australian Independent music sector at the 2018 AIR Awards in Adelaide last night. We are grateful to the South Australian Government for their continued support and to all our valued partners who helped us make it all happen.”

Minister for Industry and Skills, the Hon. David Pisoni MP commented:“Congratulations to all the winners of the 2018 AIR Awards. The Marshall Liberal Government is committed to developing the environment for the next generation of creative talent in live music, to help the music industry grow and thrive in South Australia.”


Award Winners, News