2017 Art Music Award nominations announced

Some of Australia’s finest composers and performers in contemporary, classical, jazz and experimental music have today been named as finalists for the 2017 Art Music Awards.

2017 Art Music Award nominations announced


Nominations include previous award finalists and well-known names such as Katie Noonan, Elena Kats-Chernin, Carl Vineand Richard Tognetti also featured.

Nominations for Orchestral Work of the Year include:

Title: Frog and Star Cycle
Composer: Ross Edwards
Performer: Amy Dickson (saxophone), Colin Currie (percussion),Sydney Symphony Orchestra and Lothar Koenigs (conductor)

Title: Raga : for electric guitar and orchestra
Composer: Andrew Ford
Performer: Zane Banks (guitar),Adelaide Symphony Orchestra and Benjamin Northey (conductor)

Title: Serenade for Tenor, Saxophone and Orchestra (“My Dear Benjamin”)Composer: Lyle Chan
Text: Benjamin Britten and Wulff Scherchen
Performer: Andrew Goodwin (tenor), Michael Duke (saxophone), the Queensland Symphony Orchestra and Paul Kildea (conductor)

Title: The Witching Hour
Composer: Elena Kats-Chernin Performer:
Performer: Australian World Orchestra, Alexander Briger (conductor) and soloists

Sydney Symphony Orchestra and West Australian Symphony Orchestra are both nominated for their work in music education. SSO for their annual teacher-training program, TunED-Up! and WASO for their 2016 education program.

Congratulations to all finalists of the APRA Art Music Awards.

The 2017 Art Music Awards will be presented at a gala event in Sydney on Tuesday 22 August at the City Recital Hall.

The full list of nominations can be foundhere.