Sydney Theatre Awards announced

Sydney Theatre Awards announced

2017 Sydney Theatre Awards announced 37 Awards shared between 18 productions including -Belvoir's Hir and STC's Muriel’s Wedding .

Best Mainstage Production was awarded to Belvoir’sHir, which also won Mainstage awards for Best Director (Anthea Williams), Best Male Actor In A Supporting Role (Michael Whalley) and Best Stage Design (Michael Hankin).

In the Musical categories, STC and Global Creatures’Muriel’s Weddingscooped the pool, winning Best Mainstage Musical, Best Direction of a Musical (Simon Phillips), Best Choreography (Andrew Hallsworth), Best Musical Direction (Isaac Hayward), Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical (Madeleine Jones) and Best Original Score in a Mainstage Production (Kate Miller-Heidke and Keir Nuttall). The Best Independent Musical award went toCalamity Jane, while the Best New Australian Work was awarded to Patricia Cornelius forShit.

Acting awards were spread out across several productions: in the Mainstage categories, Best Female Actor in a Leading Role was awarded toKate Mulvany(Richard III- Bell Shakespeare), Best Male Actor in a Leading Role went to Mitchell Butel (TheMerchant of Venice-Bell Shakespeare) and Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role was Elaine Crombie (Barbara and the Camp Dogs- Bevoir); while in the Independent categories, Best Female Actor in a Leading Role went to Sarah Meacham (Dry Land), and Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role was won by Johnny Nasser(The Ham Funeral). Best Director of an Independent Production was presented to Kate Gaul forThe Ham Funeral.

Best Independent Production went to Red Line Productions’A View From The Bridge, which also took Independent gongs for Best Male Actor in a Leading Role (Ivan Donato) and Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role (Zoe Terakes). Zoe Terakes also shared the Best Newcomer Award with Maggie McKenna (Muriel’s Wedding).

Over 450 members of the Sydney theatre community packed the Everest Theatre at the Seymour Centre to celebrate the best of Sydney theatre.The Sydney Theatre Awards are presented annually by a group of leading theatre critics to celebrate the strength, quality and diversity of theatre in Sydney. The Sydney Theatre Reviewers consist of Elissa Blake (Audrey Journal, formerly Fairfax), Jason Blake (Audrey Journal, formerly Fairfax), Dee Jefferson (ABC), Deborah Jones (The Australian), Jo Litson (The Sunday Telegraph, Limelight), John McCallum (The Australian), Ben Neutze (Time Out), Diana Simmonds (Stagenoise), Cassie Tongue (Time Out, The Guardian) and Suzy Wrong (Suzy Goes See, Auditorium magazine).

Event Details
Event Address
Please wait while we load map ...