Artists and philanthropists recognised in Australia Day Honours

Artists and philanthropists recognised in Australia Day Honours

Former Principal Dancer with the Australian Ballet, Lucette Aldous was bestowed the country’s highest honor, the Companion of the Order of Australia in this year’s Australia Day awards.

Having trained at the Royal Ballet School and danced lead roles with Ballet Rambert and the Royal Ballet, Ms. Aldous returned to Australia in 1970 and was a Principal Dancer with Australian Ballet until 1976, where she was noted for her partnership with Rudolph Nureyev in Don Quiote. Ms. Aldous has been recognized for her eminent service to ballet on a national and international level and services as a dance educator. At 80 years of age Ms Aldous still mentors young dancers at her family’s dance studio in Perth.

Actor and former Artistic Director of State Theatre Company of South Australia, John Gaden, was upgraded to anOfficer of the Order of Australia (AO). Gaden, who’s notable stage performances include Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead (STC, 2013), No Man's Land, (Queensland Theatre Company, STC, 2011), The Seagull (Belvoir, 2011), and The Lost Echo (STC, 2006), was recognised for his career on and off the stage and for mentoring aspiring actors.

Arts fundraisers and philanthropists also featured heavily in this year’s honors list. South Australian skincare entrepreneur, Ulrike Klein, who raised over $6 million for the purchase of four string instruments made by master Italian craftsman Guadagnini for the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO). Vicki Clitheroe was recognised as a Member (AM) for her support of emerging artists through the Citheroe Foundation’s backing of scholarships with organisations such as The National Art School and Sculpture by the Sea.

Order of Australia medals (OAM) were also awarded to Melbourne’s outdoor theatre pioneer and Artistic Director of the Australian Shakespeare Company, Glenn Elsten; composer, conductor and music educator, Rosalind Carlson; Principal Guest Conductor of Gondwana Voices, Mark O'Leary; and commercial theatre producer Walter Van Nieuwkuyk.

The full list of 2018 recipients:

Event Details
Event Address
Please wait while we load map ...